Help Wanted: A Catechetical Bleg

I am currently working on a set of catechetical materials for youth.  If you are a teacher of Catechesis in a parish, and you would be interested in field testing and evaluating these materials, please contact me and let me know.  I am looking for three or four people in a variety of circumstances.  The materials are suited for youth and adult, and are designed for pastors who teach once a week.  The materials are designed for a one or two-year program of instruction. For youth, they last the entire academic year.  For adults they take about six months to go through. They are easily scalable.

Requirements:

Actually teaching catechesis to either children or adults between September and May of next year.

Willingness to talk on the phone a couple of times during the year and let me know how it is going. 

Ability to fill out a short form for each session. (About four or five quick questions on one page.)

Actually doing the previous two items.  Feedback is essential.

Benefits:

Free Catechesis materials based on Luther’s Small and Large Catechisms, taught in the context of scriptural narratives.

Follows Luther’s outline of instruction in the Large Catechism.

Ability to call or email me and ask me for help if you are stuck.

You don’t need to grade worksheets.  I don’t use them. (Optional Worship Report forms are included.)

Designed for pastors who only have 60-90 minutes (or so) a week to teach.

Your name will be listed in the “Acknowledgments” section.

If I have too many people interested in this, I will select a few that represent a variety of different situations.  The good news is that, God willing, I plan to have them available in the fall of 2013 for all to purchase at reasonable rates.

If you are interested, don’t wait until August to ask.  I hope to have all field testers lined up by Late June.  After you contact me, you can still back out, if it turns out this isn’t for you.  But if you wait too long, the opportunity might be gone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Help Wanted: A Catechetical Bleg

  1. I am interested in testing your program. I will have 5 8th graders and 2 7th Graders this coming school year. We are in southern Iowa. Our program is a 4 year program with the first 2 (5th & 6th Grade) concentrating on the major “bible stories.” It is taught by one of my elders. Creston Iowa is a town of about 7,500, the county seat and my students come from a variety of income levels and parental occupations. There is ethnic diversity in our community but none in our congregation. I have been a parish pastor for 10 years in 3 parishes; South Dakota and Iowa. I currently use a program I have developed over the last 10 years, based on the Small Catechsim (duh!). I would like to compare my program with what other pastors are doing, this would be a great opportunity. I am well versed in technology and would be available for feedback through a variety of methods. We are a conservative, confessional, liturgical congregation.

  2. Rev. Roger D. Sterle says:

    I too would be interested in your program. I will have a class that goes from 5-8th grade made up of public school children. The rest that I teach are in our parish school.
    Rev. Roger Sterle

  3. ER Fickel says:

    Lincoln,

    I am interested.

    -Fickel

Leave a Reply

