Tetzel Lives!

I was looking at some nice liturgical e-bay listings, when I came upon this one:

+ A Traditional Latin Mass will be said for your intentions or loved one +

In case the webpage expired, here are screenshots:

Screen shot 2013-03-16 at 5.23.14 PMScreen shot 2013-03-16 at 5.23.51 PM

John Tetzel used to say, “As soon as the coin in the coffer rings, another soul from purgatory springs.” It was the first stewardship slogan. While “Donations are customary” was the official line of the church bureaucrats  Tetzel made it explicit that the act of paying actually bought forgiveness. His crass words made explicit what everyone already knew. It would appear that “Donations are customary” is still how things are seen by some in the church.

Forget ‘Habemus Papem’. I’d rather Habemus me some Gospel.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tetzel Lives!

  1. Andrew Grams says:

    It all started with that elusive donation of Constantine. If you listened to the papal blessing live, you received a plenary indulgence.

    • Country Preacher says:

      I’m not sure if I got one or not. I only listened to part of it. Did you have to listen to the indulgence itself, or would other parts do? And what if I only listened to half of the indulgence, turning it off halfway through because I didn’t know what he was saying? Did I get a semi-plenary indulgence? Catholic theology is complicated. I better stick with Lutheran.

Leave a Reply

